Amatopia: A Tale of Failure

Hello. My name is Alex, and I’m a failure.

And that’s okay.

If you’ve never failed at anything, that probably means that you haven’t tried anything.

In this case, I failed at blogging. But it wasn’t my fault. For real.

I built a blog here on WordPress. It was about my job search during a three-month long period of unemployment. This story has a happy ending because I eventually got a job, but the blog had served its purpose. I made a few attempts to add to it, but I felt that it was time to move on.

So I moved everything over to another blog, also called amatopia. The problem was, after a week of blogging, WordPress decided that I had never registered the domain, and my site ceased to exist. So did all of the content on both sites, old and new.

Oh well. I still like WordPress. And I still like blogging.

So I think the name of this blog says it all:

Amateur: A person who engages in a study, sport, or other activity for pleasure rather than for financial benefit or professional reasons.

Utopia: An ideal place or state.

Put them together, and what do you get?

You get a state of being where you get to enjoy all of what life has to offer. I am an attorney by trade, and a musician by choice. I like writing, athletics, culture, philosophy, technology, religion . . . I’m an amateur of many stripes. Maybe even a dilettante, though I like the sound of the word “amateur” better. Somebody who does something for the love of it, whether or not they get paid. But the idea is to get paid. Eventually.

Lately, I have also been getting into mindset, business, and the habits and thought-processes of successful people. Maybe I’ll talk to some of them for this blog. Wouldn’t that be fun?

Oh, and I’ll probably write about Frank Zappa. A lot.

So come along and join the fun. Life is too fun–and too ridiculous–to stay tied down to one thing. I look forward to hearing from you.

Follow me on Twitter @DaytimeRenegade

Leave a Reply

