The Power Grab

A man's hand clutching a lightning bolt.

Aedonis Bravo is killing it.

Aedonis is an intelligent young man on the rise. At his blog Unlock Your Bravado, he writes about self-improvement and social commentary, focusing on issues surrounding the black community. He’s even written a couple of books.

He is also a friend of mine on Twitter.

Mindset guru and reluctant political provocateur Mike Cernovich is raising funds on Kickstarter for a documentary called Silenced: Our War on Free Speech (full disclosure: I am a backer) and has asked Aedonis to be in it.

Things are looking up for Aedonis. And I just love seeing deserving people doing well.

 

A picture of writer, blogger, and Twitter personality Aedonis van Bravo.
Aedonis van Bravo

Part of the reason I’ve taken to Aedonis’ writing is because he’s a bit of a contrarian, which is what makes him so interesting. Recently, he posted a provocative article about something he calls nig nog culture:

The common nig nog today is between the ages of 16-24, typically can be found on twitter retweeting memes and tweeting rap lyrics, and generally going with the flow with no direction.

Nig nogs tend to be heavily involved with some type of substance – be it weed, lean (promethezine-codeine for those who don’t know), xanax, percocets…. the list goes on.

Nig nogs tend to be very materialistic and value instant gratification over long-term value. That’s why you’ll find a lot of them at the bus stop with a Gucci belt that isn’t even holding their pants up.

He’s not a fan of nig nogs.

But I’m not here to join in the nig nog pile on. I’m no expert on the black community or black issues. What I am here to do is give my perspective on a topic–you know the one–that’s a third-rail of American discourse. A topic white people like me generally try to avoid. But in the spirit of Aedonis, screw it, here goes:

I hate seeing what is happening to the black community in America.

There. I said it. I’m well aware that whitey can’t win when it comes to race-talk. White people gets criticized for not caring, and then when we does take an interest, it’s just proof of our racism, somehow (I haven’t worked this one out yet), and at best is insultingly paternalistic.

What nonsense.

If you’re human–and if you can read this, you are–I doubt you are okay living in a country where one certain group is almost guaranteed to end up (1) poor, (2) fatherless, (3) in jail, (4) dead, (5) woefully under-educated, or (6) all of the above. And it’s not like this is a recent thing. With the exception of a few brief decades, things have been bad for black Americans since day one. And despite all of the programs and all of the promises, things have gotten no better.

The insidious thing is that black America’s problems are normalized, celebrated, and encouraged by forces that want to keep them poor and angry, as long as they pull the lever for the right candidates.

Here’s another thing that pisses me off: Seeing blacks and whites constantly at each other’s throats. 

A picture of demonstrators during a Black Lives Matter protest in Baltimore, Maryland.

Time for me to put on the tinfoil hat yet again, but I can come to no other conclusion than that this is being done on purpose. Why else are black and white, man and woman, religious and atheist, Republican and Democrat, being pitted against each other at every turn?

But talk about it . . . whoa! Talk about it and you become the enemy.

I’m so glad people are starting to see through the lies.

There’s a power grab going on here. Nig nog culture and stifling free speech are only a part of it.

Follow me on Twitter @DaytimeRenegade and Gab.ai @DaytimeRenegade

And check out my Instagram here.

3 thoughts on “The Power Grab

  1. Being likewise a fool who rushes in where angels fear to tread, a few thoughts on race. I agree with a lot of what you’ve written, save for this: “despite all of the programs and all of the promises, things have gotten no better.”

    I’ve been on this planet longer than I care to admit, and believe me, things have gotten better – but in some ways, they’ve gotten worse. I suppose that requires more explanation – obviousy, it’s complicated, so bear with me.

    First, let me say I honor the Supreme Court for it’s brave decision in Brown v Board of Education, though that decision was long overdue. Separate was never equal, and any decent, honest person knew that to be the case. Those who denied that did so simply to maintain advantages that came from an accident of birth, that is to say to maintain white privilege.

    I also honor the incredible courage of the black and white people who marched for Civil Rights, and I especially honor MLK, JFK, LBJ, and the legislators who risked their political futures, and in some cases their lives, by signing legislation that granted civil rights to all Americans, though those rights should never have been in question – or denied – in the first place.

    It’s often alleged that the Great Society was an abject failure, but I disagree. It did suffer from success. That is to say, it provided a path up and out of the ghetto for the best and the brightest; but in doing so, it decimated the ranks of leaders in those communities – thus rendering already extremely diffcult problems all but intractable.

    The most obvious example of what I’m talking about is Barack Obama. Is it possible things might be better in Chicago today if he had remained a community organizer ,or had he remained in local politics in some capacity? We’ll never know, because the very societal leaps made in the Sixties and beyond – the changes for the better – enabled him to “rise above his raisin’, as we say in these parts.

    I could expound all but endlessly on this subject, at least from a semi-white man’s point of view, but I’ll leave at this for now.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. The Daytime Renegade says:

      Very interesting perspective. Thanks Tom!

      I think you are right to point out the mixed bag of progress in the black community, and how the path out resulted in a brain-drain, so to speak. I had not looked at it that way.

      But I can’t help shake the thought that programs to aid a segment of society that doesn’t also help better those who aren’t the best and brightest isn’t much of a success. Perhaps that’s too harsh, but it’s difficult for me to see the Great Society and its progeny as the remedies they were promised to be.

      (I know, one can never take government promises at face value…)

      I agree on this: Things are obviously markedly better in the country regarding opportunities, the removal of barriers, and better attitudes toward people of different races. I saw a lot of this happen in my short life as well–the 90s/early 2000s seemed like a time where all Americans really wanted to progress. This is why seeing these divisions reemerge, and reemerge in a big way, gets me so angry.

      Like

  2. I had an interesting discussion with my son last night on and around some of this. During that discussion , I had to resort to the “dad dodge” – you know, the experience thing, the “you had to be there to understand” exclusion.

    My son hates it when I do that, but that doesn’t make what I was trying to explain to him any less valid. In that verity, I’m joined by no less an authority than R.D. Laing, who pontificated that “you can’t experience the experience of my experience”. Or as Jimi Hendrix put it a lot more simply in another context, “Are you experienced?”.

    Having lived through the Sixties, I witnessed and experienced the “revolution” first-hand, though I was never what one would call a radical. In those ancient days, people took to the streets with regularity, and sometimes with violence. Alas, the Children’s Crusade, as I like to refer to it, was hoist wih its own petard, and it fell victim to its own wretched excesses. In short, it drowned in sex, drugs and rock’n’roll.

    Thus, revolution gave way to regression and Nixon/Reagan/Bush/Clinton/Bush retardation and reversal of progress. We enjoyed a brief respite under Obama, though progress was severely inhibited by intransigent troglodytes like Mitch McConnell and his mouth-breathing minions.

    God only knows how much we – and progress – will suffer under Donald and the Deconstructors. But there are signs some good may yet come from this aberrant excursion into the dark underbelly of American politics and the American psyche.

    One encouraging sign is that people are once again taking it to the streets – though one wonders what took them so long. And the question remains, do ordinary Americans have the will and the courage to complete the revolution?

    We shall see.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

