Why I Am Going to See the New Ghostbusters Movie

I am so sick of the controversy surrounding this movie. It’s a movie. It is actors and actresses playing pretend speaking lines written for them by other people as recorded on thin reams of celluloid. Movies, like all art, are important cultural artifacts, but this is Ghostbusters. Let’s keep things in perspective. 

I’ve previously written about the controversy surrounding this movie, based on the reaction to Internet personality James Rolfe‘s thoughts on the movie’s trailer and how it relates to the larger culture war:

The whole thing is absurd, but it goes to a bigger point: Rolfe’s sin was not enjoying what The Powers That Be deemed must be enjoyed in order to be a “good person.”

*     *     *

What we are witnessing is a war on fun. The reason this bothers me so much is because this war is trying to bully and destroy targets who have not inserted themselves into any broader culture war. And that’s what this is. All civilizations are defined by their culture, and he who controls it, wins.

*     *     *

We all have our own definitions of fun. But these are cultural forces determined to ram their own opinions down your throat and onto everything you see, read, hear and do.

I call this war on fun a desire for beigeness.

But enough about the socio-political context. Here are my positions on the film, which have remained consistent since the movie was announced:

  1. I have a general antipathy towards remakes and reboots. 
  2. I enjoy the original two movies very much and don’t think they need remaking or rebooting. 
  3. All four principal actresses are very funny and talented in their own rights. 
  4. The trailer was pretty bad, and affected my desire to see the movie. 
  5. It’s hard to have an opinion about something you haven’t seen. 
  6. I resent the accusation that any male-type person who thinks the movie looks awful hates women. This is silly. 

Still, I had no desire to see it. But then, in speaking with my friend and fellow blogger Rawle Nyanzi, he mentioned he is going to see the movie to tell for himself whether the politics is are as blatant as its creators and defenders make it seem or if the movie is just, you know, a movie featuring four women in the lead roles. 

Seeing something before rendering an opinion…what a novel idea!

So yes, Rawle and I are going to see the new Ghostbusters next week and let you know what we think. 

Why?

Hey, back off man; we’re scientists!

Follow me on Twitter @DaytimeRenegade

And check out my Instagram here

4 thoughts on “Why I Am Going to See the New Ghostbusters Movie

  1. I am not going to see it, but not for sexism, but for the same reason I didn’t see the new Robocop, Ninja Turtles or the millionth relaunched Spider-man – I can’t do reboots.

    I wanted a new Ghostbusters when I was young, even as I got to an older age I would have liked to have seen a sequel. Then it got to about to 2003 and I saw no point.

    I will watch the new Ghostbusters eventually when it comes on TV, but the cinema is such an expensive experience that all films I pick and choose carefully, that feeling where I think “I must see that as soon as possible”, new Ghostbusters never created that sensation.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Daytime Renegade says:

      I too have remake fatigue. I don’t go to the movies that often anyway for price/time reasons, but this one is such an event for all the wrong reasons I feel like it’s my duty as an amateur anthropologist to see it for myself.

      Maybe it’s good! Who knows? All I know is that it’s become this phenomenon I almost feel compelled to check out for myself.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

