The Only Way Is Forward

There’s a funny thing about time: It’s a one-way street, theoretical physics and sci-fi aside. 

And it moves so fast

You are going to get old and die. There is nothing you can do about this. Stuff will happen between your birth and your death. And eventually the sun will expand, engulfing the entire inner solar system, up to and including Mars, in its fiery bosom, before exploding altogether. The end. 

But we have a few billion years until then. 

I saw a great line recently, something akin to “Your life is two numbers and a dash in-between. Make the dash interesting.” I like that. 

Born at point A. Die at point B. Kick ass between. We’re all in the same boat and no amount of potions and serums and computer programs will change this. 

So what does this have to do with anything? Well, we just crossed over into the year 2017 a few days ago, and while it’s pretty arbitrary, it’s just as good a time as any to take stock and plan ahead. 

That’s right: There’s nothing wrong with goals per se. And yes, the arch-cynic here is looking ahead. 

(Reminder: I did not do this in my New Year’s Eve post).

For the purposes of this site, I would like to continue writing about various topics of interest, only using personal experience as a springboard to interesting themes. Expect the writing schedule to be a little more “normal,” i.e. 1-2 posts per week. 

I would like to get some writing published in 2017. I have one novel in the hopper ready to go, another almost done, and my NaNoWriMo novel to finish (it turns out that 50,000 words represented the first half of my story). 

I’m thinking of following the examples of my pals Rawle Nyanzi and Russell Newquist, among others, and going the indie or self-publishing route. 
I also have some professional and personal goals, but again, won’t be sharing them here other than in vague terms as a launching point for something else. 

I’d like to revise some earlier posts. I have done a few, but there are plenty more to go. 

And as always, there’s the overarching question of “why?” Why do this? Why write? Here are some answers: 

Communication. We all have something to say, stories to tell. Many will go to the grave never having gotten it out. I have enough regret in my life already, thank you very much. I’d like to have more things fulfilled than regretted in the remaining 50+ years of my life.

Connection. There are lots of great people out there. I’ve “met” many of you. There’s nothing like finding a community of like-minded individuals all across the country, and the globe. 

Practice. Like anything, writing requires practice and discipline. This is a great way to get those reps in. 

Self-promotion. I’m not going to lie: If you’re the purveyor of some product or service, you need to get your name and ideas out there. And as a bonus, I’ve found a bunch of great stuff by other people. It’s a win-win. 

Change perceptions. See this post for a comprehensive explanation of this. 
All told, the coming year will unfold whether any of us are ready or not. Might as well have a plan. 
Follow me on Twitter @DaytimeRenegade and Gab.ai @DaytimeRenegade

And check out my Instagram here

6 thoughts on “The Only Way Is Forward

Leave a Reply

