Write From the Heart

I hate lists. 

I hate bullet points. 

I hate how-to guides. 

This is not entirely accurate. I do enjoy reading them, but I sure hate writing them. 

Lots of great, high-quality bloggers wrote these things. I read them and enjoy them and learn from them. 

But I don’t like writing them, even though I’ve tried from time to time. 

It’s a pretty American thing, isn’t it? Lists and bullet points? “Here’s how you do it, bang bang bang.” No pretensions, no bullshit, no flowery language. Get to the point. 

But here’s the thing: I’m a bullshitter. I’m a dissembler. I like flowery language. 

I’m a storyteller, and a story-reader. I like stories. I like writing narratives.

Successful blogs, though, tend to have bullet points, lists, and “actionable items.”

These are great. 

But they’re not my style. 

I always feel disingenuous when I write like this. 

It’s funny, then: Why blog? What am I trying to do?

I’m not going to lie. It’s fun. I like to write. This is very much practice for me as much as it is self-expression. We all have our need to get things off of our chests, after all. 

And in addition to the self-promotion aspect of it, it’s a great way to meet new people and encounter interesting ideas. 

So I don’t know if anyone’s noticed this shift in my writing. That’s fine. I’m just getting more stuff off of my chest in writing this, I suppose. 

We all have our styles that come naturally. We can work on them, tweak them, and make additions or subtraction, drawing inspirations from others, but in the end we all want to sound like us. Authentic. 

“Authentic” is such a nebulous and overused word, but you know it when you see it. 

You also know it when you feel it. There’s no good to come in being untrue to yourself in any aspect of your life. 

Including relatively unimportant ones. Like blogging. 

Follow me on Twitter @DaytimeRenegade and Gab.ai @DaytimeRenegade

And check out my Instagram here

4 thoughts on “Write From the Heart

  1. Yes! I think you read my mind. Why is it that everything “worth following” should be this condensed (and, in my opinion, canned) view of a topic? I think when we decide that information communication must follow an overused (and limited) formula, we begin to lose our creative energy – the kind that’s needed to handle life when it doesn’t hit us with a manicured “five tips” checklist. I prefer a healthy, respectful challenge 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Daytime Renegade says:

      Rock on Lauren! Great minds and all of that.

      I think the “corporate” type of writing can work. And I do tend to blog in a punchier style than normal. But that’s the nature of the Internet, isn’t it? You meet readers where they are.

      That said, I’d rather tell a story because I enjoy it, and I just don’t do other types of writing as well.

      From reading your blog, I’m not surprised that you agree!

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I do agree that the style and formatting of writing is unique to the purpose. Lists do work well, but, like most things, it feels like the path of least resistance is winning. Cling to your amazing stories – they always inspire me. And – I just have to say – we both had “write” puns in our titles today!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

