True Truthiness

Today, for both Eastern and Western Christians, marks the start of Great and Holy Lent, the 40-day fast culminating in Easter Sunday and the resurrection of Jesus Christ.

But this post is not about religion per se, and is intended for a universal audience regardless of your religious proclivities (if any).

I’m inclusive like that.

You see, what strikes me about Lent and Easter is its thematic link to most other major Christian holidays in that they all seem to be about renewal and rebirth.

From Christmas–the conception and birth of Jesus–to Epiphany–the baptism of Jesus Christ by John the Baptist–to the Transfiguration–the Revelation of Jesus’ true nature to John and James and Peter–these events involve humanity being able to overcome its fallen nature and put on a new form, new wine in new bottles.

But if this isn’t a religious post, then why am I writing about religion?

Because this focus on rebirth can also be seen as a quest for truth. And as a blogger I very much enjoy named Insanitybytes22 put it recently, absolute truth is difficult to come by, but us Christians like to think we have a starting point:

However, human flaws aside, objective truth and Absolute Truth are still real things in the world. Jesus says, “I am the way, the truth, and the life: no man cometh unto the Father, but by me.” -John 14:6. The truth is important in the Christian walk, and it is an objective, tangible thing, outside of and beyond ourselves, our feelings, and our sentimentality.

This is what I try to use as my starting point as well: If you are going to have a standard, it’s better for that standard to be as immutable and true as humanly possible. And since “humanly possible” is not always best, I think the teachings of Jesus Christ–who us Christians consider to be God on Earth–are a good place to start.

This all still sounds religious. Where am I going with this?

I am going to a place that may seem disproportionately mundane when compared to the resurrection of the dead: My own life.

Specifically, my purpose.

Specifically, what am I doing here.

And by “here,” I mean blogging. Writing. Anything.

When I started this blog, my mission statement was this:

The focus of Amatopia is how all of these disparate threads can come together to make one a more complete person. Everything is connected–art, music, culture, religion, money, fitness, politics–and all has an effect on your job, your family, and ultimately the world.

That’s kind of vague, isn’t it?

Since then, I’ve come to realize that I value certain things more than just my various interests in life. I value trying to find out what any of us are doing here, what the truth is, how we can find it and use it to make our lives better.

For me, it has a religious component, yes, since what I do is at least an attempt to glorify the Lord. But because it’s a free country, your mileage may vary.

I will keep writing about the various things that interest me, because that is what life is all about, but I’m going to do so with a focus on whatever truths they may reveal.

Which might have been what I was doing anyway without realizing it. But it’s always better to be purposeful about what you do than just flailing away doing whatever. 

Renewal, rebirth, resurrection, reconfiguration: Whatever you want to call it, Lent is as good a time as any to think about these things in the context of your own life. Maybe the best time. 

Good luck!

Follow me on Twitter @DaytimeRenegade and Gab.ai @DaytimeRenegade

And check out my Instatram here.

 

3 thoughts on “True Truthiness

Leave a Reply

