Sunshine Blogger Award

Well, file this in the “Unexpected, Undeserved, but Welcome” file: Writer, blogger, and all around cool guy (and decent fellow) Dylan Cornelius nominated me for something called the Sunshine Blogger Award. 

The SBA (no, not the Small Business Adminostration) is, from what I can tell, a way to promote yourself and promote others. It’s a “pass it along,” chain type of thing, but not a scam. In fact, you’ll probably discover some cool blogs!

I’ll get into the rules, but first about Dylan: I discovered his writing back in 2013 or so when I somehow stumbled upon his site Questicle, an entry into the chronogaming thing, where people play and blog about video games (or anything pop culture related, really) in chronological order, tracking their development and so on. 

Questicle happened to be about my favorite old system, the NES (yes, I have a soft spot for retrogaming). Dylan wrote short, funny reviews on each game (and he is the KING of funny captions). Through commenting on his site, which I used to read on my phone while holding my then-infant son as he settled in to sleep, I realized Dylan was a cool guy as well as a good writer, and that we had a lot in common. 

He is now doing the same thing he did for the NES with Sega systems on his most recent project Sega Does, and also writes about religious and spiritual matters on Dylan In Transition–you should check out both! 

And now, the SBA rules, cribbed from Dylan:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you 
  2. Answer the questions given to you 
  3. Nominate at least 3 bloggers
  4. Write questions for your nominees to answer

I’ll tackle them in order. 

1. Thank the person who nominated you. Thanks, Dylan!

2. Answer the questions given to you. These are great questions, and I expected nothing less from Dylan. Here we go!

What compels you to write?

Insecurity. 

Like a lot of people into performing arts and other mediums of expression, I want people to like me. As a shy, awkward, physically unattractive kid, music was the key to social acceptance. It also helped that I loved music. 

The same with drawing, and writing. I like that things from my imagination can come to life, and that people may actually enjoy them!

Now, I write more because I enjoy communicating with people and telling stories, and enjoy changing perceptions about certain things. 

But insecurity always remains. 

Outside of blogging, what are you most passionate about?

In no particular order, my family, music, God, history, and trying to understand just what the hell I’m doing here. 

Are millennials really as awful as everyone says?

Honestly, no, and I’ve written about this before

They’re (we’re?) easy targets for a lot of reason, but I think Millennials are victims more than anything. As Frank Zappa sang in “What’s the Ugliest Part of Your Body?”: “All your children are poor unfortunate victims of systems beyond their control. A plague upon your ignorance and the grey despair of your ugly lives!”

To me, as one born between the Gen X/Millennial cutoff (1981), I identify far more with Gen X. And in school and life in general, the craziness was just starting to ramp up as I was getting out. So I like to think I can offer a different, slightly more sympathetic perspective about this much-maligned generation. 

Millennials have been raised in an idiotic, empty culture designed by greedy fools with no long-term thinking. These idiots running the show did things for their own benefit without caring about the far-reaching consequences to the children they experimented on. And then they make fun of the children for being lazy unemployed idiots. They blame Millennials for being poor unfortunate victims of systems that previous generations created. 

A plague upon you all. 

A really great cup of coffee or a really great beer?

Coffee. I’m a man who likes my beer, but I don’t drink alcohol that regularly. 

Coffee, on the other hand, is a way of life. 

What’s one thing about yourself that you’d like people to know?

That I honestly like people–my default is to give people the benefit of the doubt and treat them with respect until they prove they don’t deserve it–but I don’t care if people like me or not. Like, literally my caring. It does not move the needle at all. 

Many perceive that as being dismissive or haughty or arrogant or whatever. But that’s not my intent. I am just bad at pretending. I have trouble putting on airs for the sake of “yay team!” or whatever. It’s something I’m working on, because people tend to think I’m kind of a dick, or at the very least, a cranky bastard. 

Which is sort of true, I guess. 

3. Nominate at least 3 bloggers.

Rawle Nyanzi. Rawle is not only a blogger and a writer I enjoy, he’s also a personal friend. That’s right: We actually hang out in real life! He’s also one of my Internet writing buddies–check out my review of his novella Sword & Flower here!

Rawle writes about a lot of things, but focuses on what some may call “geek” culture. He always has an interesting take, and is enthusiastic about what he does. His passion is palpable. He definitely deserves more readers. 

Avtomat Khan. AK writes at Hidden Dominion, a site similar to my own, where he writes about a lot of macro issues (like me) AND micro issues (unlike me) with a focus on being independent in all aspects of life. He’s interesting, edgy, and incisive, and he wrote a great guest post for me here, so check his stuff out. 

Neil White. Neil is the man. He’s a father and writer from Scotland who runs, for my money, the top blog about being a father in modern times, This Dad Does. His advice and thoughts on parenting, fitness, and life in general have helped me out immensely. He’s also a very supportive individual, and was gracious enough to allow me to write a guest post on his blog during my first few months writing this blog. A great writer and a great guy. 

And Neil, the invite to write a guest post here remains wide open!

Lloyd. Lloyd of Business and Bullets is one of the most interesting cats around. “Live Free, Make Money, Pack Iron” is his motto, and boy does he live it. You want to talk authenticity? Lloyd is authentic. Finance, business, philosophy, music, history, parenthood, fitness, psychology, guns . . . he tackles it all with a kick-ass, no b.s. attitude that I love. Much to learn at his site. 

Insanity Bytes. IB writes on a blog called See, there’s this thing called biology, yet her focus is more on faith and how it interacts with contemporary society. And while I enjoy her blog, I confess I don’t know much about her! So this is a great opportunity to learn more about a blogger I really like.

4. Write questions for your nominees to answer.

  1. In your opinion, which institutions in society have not become hopelessly corrupted, and why do you think they’ve survived?
  2. What is more dangerous: bad people or bad ideas?
  3. What are some of your favorite things to do when you aren’t writing awesome stuff?
  4. Favorite music?
  5. And to swipe one of Dylan’s questions, what compels you to write?

This has been fun, and I’m looking forward to everyone’s answers!

God bless. 

Follow me on Twitter @DaytimeRenegade and Gab.ai @DaytimeRenegade

And check out my Instagram here

4 thoughts on “Sunshine Blogger Award

  1. Hey Alex, thanks for the kind words! And for answering my questions with well thought out answer.

    “Millennials have been raised in an idiotic, empty culture designed by greedy fools with no long-term thinking. These idiots running the show did things for their own benefit without caring about the far-reaching consequences to the children they experimented on. And then they make fun of the children for being lazy unemployed idiots. They blame Millennials for being poor unfortunate victims of systems that previous generations created.”

    I particularly appreciate this. You’re awesome man!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Daytime Renegade says:

      Hah thanks! In retrospect, it seems kind of harsh to the older generations, but darn it, things were broken before we all came age, and we see as hell didn’t break them!

      Also, the questions you posed were great, so it was my pleasure.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. The Daytime Renegade says:

      I have not, but thank you for the link! I’ll check it out when I can. I confess I’ve never heard of Simon Sinek, but it’s always good to learn about new interesting people.

      Thanks!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

