One Year of Failure

Oh my goodness I’ve been writing on this stupid blog for over a year.

My first post was published on May 14, 2016. So I missed the official one-year anniversary. So I failed at commemorating the occasion. Big deal.

Here’s how I opened that post:

Hello. My name is Alex, and I’m a failure.

And that’s okay.

If you’ve never failed at anything, that probably means that you haven’t tried anything.

So you see? I’m merely living up to expectations.

All kidding aside, it’s always cool to look back and see that you’ve been doing something consistently over a long period. I’m going to claim victory on this one, since it’s the longest I’ve ever kept a blog.

And you know something? I’ve actually learned a few things during this time. Things I’m gonna go share because this is a blog and pompous, long-winded explanations are what people do:

Discipline. I like writing and would like to earn money from it someday (here’s the first chapter of what I’ve been working on). The discipline and consistency required to maintain this dumb blog has really acted like exercise, keeping my writing system running despite the hectic nature of life.

New people and ideas. I have met and interacted with some of the coolest people ever since I started this, and have gained a new appreciation for social media in general. Whether it’s art, pop culture, fitness, religion, parenthood, philosophy, or politics, I’ve learned a hell of a lot over this last year, and for that I am grateful.

Fun. The past year and change have been difficult. Blogging has helped keep me grounded, focused, and, dare I say it, sane. And the fact that people actually read this makes it all even more fulfilling. Otherwise, I’d just keep a journal, and who would hear my terrible jokes?

Let’s see…all of these types of self-congratulatory posts have a “What’s Next?” section, so here’s mine: No clue.

Moving on, these types of posts also have stats. People love stats. You want some stats? Good God, give the people some stats!

  • Posts: 192 including this one
  • Followers: 103
  • All-Time Views: 16,553
  • All-Time Visitors: 11,060
  • Best Day for Views: Monday (21%)
  • Best Time for Views: (8%)
  • Best All-Time Views: 1,671 on July 4, 2016, when Scott Adams tweeted out a link to this post.
  • Dollars Earned: $0
  • Frank Zappa References: Approximately 1,000
Frank-Zappa-A-mind-is-like-a-parachute
Make that 1,0001.

So there you go. Thanks for reading and interacting in the comments. Maybe you’ll see another post like this next May!

Follow me on Twitter @DaytimeRenegade and Gab.ai @DaytimeRenegade

And check out my Instagram here.

7 thoughts on “One Year of Failure

  1. Congratulations on your 1 year anniversary (I always seem to miss out on mine!).

    Good lessons learned – it’s a great way to build writing discipline, the only downside I found was that I was dedicating most of my writing time to blogging when I wanted to write other things.

    Best of luck for the future, look forward to seeing what you have next 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Daytime Renegade says:

      Thanks James! I am with you that blogging does take time from other writing. But in a way, I suppose that helps teach time-management skills.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. rawlenyanzi says:

    Congrats on one year of blogging. I’ve been blogging for a little over a year myself, and I have to say, this current blig is a lot more successful than my previous attempts at blogging (both old blogs have since been deleted.)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

