Negative Predictions

If you bet against people doing the right thing, you’ll never be wrong. Right?

When trying to predict how people will behave, think of the best thing they could do, and then assume the opposite will happen. 

That’s just human nature. Right?

After the terror attack in England (which one?), I wrote a post called “I Have Seen the Future, and it Sucks.” In relevant part, it read:

  • There will be no political solution. 
  • Things will get worse before they get better, if they get better. 
  • This will come to the U.S. if we don’t get serious about two things: Destroying ISIS and similar organizations wherever they pop up, and controlling our own borders and immigration policy. 

I was writing about jihad, spedically, hence the point about ISIS and borders. Because as counterterrorist organizations note, they seed their ranks amongst the migrants coming into Europe and the United States. 

And then yesterday some evil sonofabitch drives over a bunch of Muslims  at a mosque in Finsbury Park in London

This is, quite obviously, the wrong choice to make. 

So there you have my “No political solution” and “Things will get worse before they get better” predictions coming true.  

I have no clue how this will play out, except that I fully expect to see retaliation by Muslims, which will lead to more retaliation against them. Followed by a government crackdown in England against non-Muslims, which we’re already seeing  with the post-London Bridge attack free-speech crackdowns. 

Remember, I also called the likelihood that someone would die over the 2016 U.S. presidential election…and I was right

So always bet on bad. I guess that’s the lesson here: Never assume people will do the right thing. Lovely, isn’t it. 

But I don’t revel in this. I hate it. There is so much good in potentia that could be done but we’re too busy trying to screw each other over, or worse. And there is no legislating out way out of it. 

  • Is it a question of imbalanced incentives?
  • Is it a question of culture?
  • Is it a question of poverty and desperation?
  • Is it a question of religion?

Probably yes to all, but also no. There’s something so broken in us that even in societies of abundance and tolerance we find ways to kill each other, and ourselves, in spectacular fashion. 

I don’t know the way out. That’s something I can’t predict. All I can say is that somedays…most days, I’m ready to leave this world and never look back. 

Follow me on Twitter @DaytimeRenegade and Gab.ai @DaytimeRenegade

And check out my Instagram here

3 thoughts on “Negative Predictions

  1. I kind of predicted that there would be retaliation attacks in the UK unfortunately. I knew this because particularly after the events in Manchester there were many people who were just frustrated that they couldn’t do anything and were frustrated that the Government seemed to just be taking it with the usual approach of the usual buzz words and not taking any action.

    I imagine annoyance will continue to grow as we move into a back and forth of attacks resulting in many Muslims becoming even more isolated from the rest of the UK. I write this with dread for the times ahead – we honestly don’t have the leadership to address the issue.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The Daytime Renegade says:

      It’s both predictable and scary. Amazing that it took 16 years to happen…

      Tough times ahead, not just in England but everywhere. Stay strong.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

